The Vermont Council on Rural Development (VCRD) announces the opening of applications for the second competitive round of the Climate Catalysts Innovation Fund.

In collaboration with local funders, VCRD is supporting innovators in developing solutions that move Vermont closer to its climate and energy goals by providing at least $20,000 in grant funding toward local projects. The second round follows a successful initial round of investments in 18 projects (out of 29 applications).

“This fund enables small catalyst projects that test ideas, learn from, and share new ways to create meaningful impact through local climate-based solutions. The breadth of projects across Vermont from the first round of the Climate Catalysts Innovation Fund speaks to the diversity and innovation required to implement local climate solutions,” noted Program Manager, Laura Cavin Bailey.

Award amounts range from $500 – $4,000 and will be awarded based on demonstrating a mix of innovation, collaboration, replicability, while also addressing Vermonters in need. Eligible applicants are municipalities, town committees, schools, businesses, and non-profit organizations.

“Initial funding for community-scale climate innovations is a scarce and important resource for local leaders,” said VCRD Executive Director, Brian Lowe. “We are grateful to our funders for their community focus, and look forward to supporting some creative applications.”

Applications will remain open until Sunday, September 18.

Learn more at and contact Laura Cavin Bailey at [email protected] or (802) 223-6091 with questions.

Past Project Recipients Funded:

  • Bennington County Window Dressers
  • BurnRight Vermont
  • Charlotte Energy Committee
  • Charlotte Library
  • Climate Economy Action Center of Addison County
  • East Burke School
  • Ilsley Public Library
  • Middlesex Energy Committee
  • Mount Abraham Unified School District
  • Northeastern Orange County Window Dressers
  • Peacham Energy Committee
  • Rich Earth Institute
  • Sutton Energy Committee
  • Town of Richmond
  • Town of Ryegate
  • Town of Stowe
  • Town of Wolcott
  • Wardsboro Energy Committee