You are here

Write a letter to your local paper in support of WLEF funding for FY 2017

Printer-friendly versionPDF version

Write a letter to your local newspaper. (A list of papers with their email addresses is below.)

  1. Send your letter by email, and only send it to one paper at a time. Do not cc (or bcc) multiple newspapers.  
  2. In your 3‐paragraph letter:  
    • Say you support funding the Working Lands Enterprise Fund at $1 million for FY 2017 and you hope legislators will, too.
    • In the second paragraph, say why you think the Working Lands Enterprise Fund is a good investment (see below for some ideas)
    • In the last paragraph, send readers to www.vtworkinglands.org for more information.   
  3. Keep your entire letter to no more than 400 words – 3 short paragraphs.  
  4. Be sure to include your: a) Full name b) Town c) Phone Number and Email Address. 
  5. If your letter gets published, please send us a copy – you can mail it to VWLP c/o PO Box 551, Montpelier VT 05601 or email info@vtrural.org if you have a link to the letter online.  

Reasons the WLEF is a good investment - pick one or two, or use your own reasons!

The Working Lands Enterprise Fund:

  • Creates jobs in working lands enterprises
  • Keeps young entrepreneurs in Vermont
  • Builds new markets for value-added products
  • Increases capacity for in-state production
  • Leverages more investment for growing enterprises

FY13 & FY14 grants – reporting above from about half of the grants - results:

  • Leveraged $4.9 million in matching funds
  • 106 new (FTE) jobs created

For the 49 completed projects: for every $10,000 invested, gross income increases 10x and 1 new job is created!

Newspapers

Daily Papers, Location, LTE contact
Bennington Banner, Bennington, news@benningtonbanner.com
Brattleboro Reformer, Brattleboro, news@reformer.com
Burlington Free Press, Burlington, letters@bfp.burlingtonfreepress.com
Caledonian Record St., Johnsbury, news@caledonian-record.com
Eagle Times (NH), Claremont, NH, news@eagletimes.com
Newport Daily Express, Newport, editor@newportdailyadv.com
Rutland Herald, Rutland, david.moats@rutlandherald.com
St. Albans Messenger, St. Albans, emerson@samessenger.com
Times Argus, Barre-Montpelier, letters@timesargus.com
Valley News, Upper Valley, forum@vnews.com

Weekly Papers, Location, LTE contact
Addison Independent, Middlebury, news@addisonindependent.com
Barton Chronicle, Barton, news@bartonchronicle.com
Brandon Reporter, Brandon, news@brandonreporter.com
Charlotte News, Charlotte, news@charlottenewsvt.com
Colchester Sun, Colchester, news@essexreporter.com
County Courier, Enosburg Falls, countycourier@gmail.com
Deerfield Valley News, West Dover, letters@vermontmedia.com
Essex Reporter, Colchester, news@essexreporter.com
Hardwick Gazette, Hardwick, news@thehardwickgazette.com
Manchester Journal, Manchester Center, news@manchesterjournal.com
Milton Independent, Milton, indy@together.net
Montpelier Bridge, Montpelier, mpbridge@sover.net
News & Citizen, Morrisville, edit@newsandcitizen.com
Northfield News, Northfield, nnews@trans-video.net
Randolph Herald, Randolph, editor@ourherald.com
Shelburne News, Shelburne, news@shelburnenews.com
Stowe Reporter, Stowe, news@stowereporter.com
The Islander, South Hero, islander@vermontislander.com
The Journal Opinion, Bradford, editor@jonews.com
The Message, Chester, message@vermontel.net
The Observer, Jamaica, news@vermontobserver.com
The World, Barre, editor@vt-world.com
Town Crier, Bellows Falls/Brattleboro-Wilmington, thagerman@thetowncriers.com
Transcript, Morrisville, edit@newsandcitizen.com
Vermont News Guide, Manchester Center, vng@hersamacornvt.com
Vermont Standard, Woodstock, vstand@sover.net
Waitsfield Valley Reporter, Waitsfield, news@valleyreporter.com
Waterbury Record, Waterbury, news@waterburyrecord.com
Williston Observer, Williston, editor@willistonobserver.com